Last Day with the 4th Graders

On March 15th 2013, it was a very bittersweet day. I was happy to be DONE with winter term. I was happy to be DONE with my work sample, completed and turned in (247 pages!) yet,  I was oh so sad that I was done being in the 4th grade classroom on a regular basis…

This group of 4th graders was an AMAZING group. Each child had a special spirit, whether it was loud or quiet, easy-going or obnoxious; I adored each one and I will remember each one. I like to think that people don’t have “favorites.” I know sometimes people joke about that parents, teachers, etc. do, in fact, have secret favorites. I still don’t agree with that. I do think, however, that there are some students/children that come to mind first depending on context and/or the situation you are thinking about. That’s how I like to think of it, at least.

Since it was a Friday, the day was short from the get-go. But, I felt the day surely zipped on by faster than I would have liked. Towards the end of the day, my cooperating teacher asked me to sit up at the front of the class on a stool. She presented me with a “teacher’s tool kit:” a lunch tote bag filled with some chocolate, wooden/mechanical pencils, sticky notes, paper clips, green ink pens, glue sticks, and hand sanitizer. Then, a student presented me with a binder filled with “letters of recommendations” from each student! They made me read one out loud, and half-way through, I just about cried.  I said I couldn’t read anymore else out loud or else they’d see Ms. Grizzle really cry. They then went around saying something nice (if they wished, no pressure!) and I was very flattered by them all. They started to sing this special Thank You song and kept wanting to say something on the microphone that was being passed around. A lot of them mentioned how I was nice, friendly, and easy to talk to. They also mentioned how I never got really mad, but gave warnings (deep down, I know I need to be more firm :P) I was all very flattered by everyone’s comments, but some that hit home to me were ones that expressed how some felt they could talk to me when they couldn’t talk to someone else, how I helped them out during some tricky frustrations with school, how I made history “fun” for those who didn’t like history, and for helping a student get through personal problems that he had on a daily basis. Really, the fact that they talked about things aside from being nice or academic content put an inspiring imprint on me. I want to continue to not only be a teacher to my students, but also a friend….a model….someone they can go to and trust.

I eventually got a chance to talk. I expressed my thanks, explained my thought of how awesome they were, how much I’d miss them, and how much I loved them. I also gave my big memo I’ve been trying to drill into them every day I’ve been there: ALWAYS give your best effort. Even when things seem tough or challenging, give your best effort. I was close to tears  here, too, as I was talking. I felt my cheeks gets red and my voice tightening. I then passed out a gift I had for them. I wrote each of my 26 students a card (This is where the dollar store becomes your best friend!) with a personalized message. I also put an an animal sticker and wrote a speech bubble with some sort of inspiring quote.  On the front of the envelope, I wrote their name along with “you’re a ‘smarty!’ ” with, of course, a smarties candy taped right next to it 😛 (I love puns, I’m telling you!) It took a very long time….but, it was worth seeing the students open them with big smiles.

I gave my cooperating teacher a note, too, and a can of plum jam that my boyfriend, friend, and I made last Summer/Fall.  It was very sad to leave her, too. We really clicked and really supported one another. Her “pearl” that she passed on to me: Be passionate! Incorporate interests into your teaching and go with it! Students will see and feel your passion and feed off of that, too :]
Today was very bittersweet and, geez, they sure tugged on my heart strings!

I’ll miss those 4th grade kiddos so much ♥

Tote bag, shells two students gave me, and the binder filled with "letters of recommendations" from the whole class :]

Tote bag, shells two students gave me, and the binder filled with “letters of recommendations” from the whole class :]

Chalk writing that a 4th grader did for me towards the end of school :]

Chalk writing that a 4th grader did for me towards the end of school :]

Later days and peace to all ♥

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.