Day 2

I had to work in the morning, so I was in the classroom for only half of the day. I came to the school during lunch time, and my cooperating teacher and I talked a bit more about my work sample. After such discussion, we decided that instead of reading/literacy, I could focus on social studies–Lewis and Clark/the Oregon Trail. My cooperating teacher is huge on the Oregon Trail and has a lot of resources and props that can go with it. Also, she told me they are behind and haven’t started the unit yet, so I could kick things off. I’m excited that I finally have something “set,” but nervous because social studies isn’t my strongest content area. I will definitely need to brush up on some knowledge and practices for teaching social studies. Coincidentally, I am currently taking a class that focus on social studies/language arts. I can only imagine I’ll get boosts of inspiration and support from that class! Now, my concern is narrowing down the focus and determining whether or not I’m doing the WHOLE unit of Lewis and Clark/The Oregon Trail, or if I am to focus on a few standards among the huge list my cooperating teacher has recorded for this unit. I’ll need to bring these questions up during my seminar next Tuesday….there is so much information with this unit! Here are the standards associated:

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Social Studies–4th Grade

Historical Knowledge

4.1. Identify and describe historic Native American Indian groups that lived in Oregon prior to contact with Europeans and at the time of early European exploration, including ways these groups adapted to and interacted with the physical environment.

4.2. Explain how key individuals and events influenced the early growth and changes in Oregon.

4.3. Give examples of changes in Oregon’s agricultural, industrial, political, and business development over time.

Historical Thinking

4.5. Distinguish between fact and fiction in historical accounts by comparing documentary sources on historical figures and events with fictional characters and events in stories.

4.6. Create and evaluate timelines that show relationships among people, events, and movements in Oregon history.

4.7. Use primary and secondary sources to create or describe a narrative about events in Oregon history.

Geography

4.9. Explain the influence of Oregon and the Northwest’s physical systems on humans, including Native Americans.

4.10. Compare and contrast varying patterns of settlements in Oregon, past and present, and consider future trends.

4.11. Identify conflicts involving use of land, natural resources, economy, and competition for scarce resources, different political views, boundary disputes, and cultural differences within Oregon and between different geographical areas.

4.12. Explain how people in Oregon have modified their environment and how the environment has influenced people’s lives.

Civics and Government

4.14. Explain the organization and functions of Oregon government.

4.15. Describe and evaluate how historical Oregon governments affected groups within the state (citizens, foreigners, women, class systems, minority groups, tribes).

4.16. Explain the process of Oregon statehood.

Social Science Analysis

4.19. Compare eyewitness and secondhand accounts of an event.

4.20. Describe the sequence of events in given current and historical accounts.

4.21. Analyze historical accounts related to Oregon to understand cause-and-effect.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I should probably clarify that all these standards aren’t towards “Lewis and Clark” but are the desired standards to be addressed for the social studies unit: Lewis and Clark–>Oregon Trail–>Statehood. It runs from January to March (but, again, the class is behind and haven’t really started any of this). I’ll need to further talk with my cooperating teacher and seminar instructors to really focus on a set target goal for my work sample/lessons.

A fun highlight from today was presenting 1,000 cranes to the class. Woah! 1,000 cranes??? That’s right. The class is finishing up Sadako and a Thousand Paper Cranes (book synopsis). The legend goes that if you make 1,000 cranes, you get a wish. I make them as gifts for people, and I had a set with me handy. Traditionally, you string the cranes, but I make my cranes tiny and put them in a jar.

Image

1,000 cranes

There is one student in the class who is currently trying to make 1,000 cranes. He is trying to make 1,000 cranes by the end of February. I believe he started the project in December. I had him calculate how many he would need to make a day to reach his goal (aha! Integrate some math, here :D). He worked out the problem and found out if he makes at least 18 a day, he’ll reach his goal. I’m excited to watch him succeed!

Note from today: the classroom gets sooooo messy by the end of the day! Need to try to figure out how to prevent this so the janitors aren’t battling trash monsters….

Later days and peace to all ♥

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.